Web of Intrigue

“Well?”

“Well what?

“Did you get it?”

“Get what?”

“The information from the Arachnids you bloody twit!”

“Oh yeah.”

“So did you get it?”

“What?”

Percival glared at Gavin, who lowered his muzzle into his furry chest and shuffled away a little bit along his perch.

“The information…” replied Percival through clenched teeth.

“Yes. I did exactly what you said and I was ever so polite and I didn’t eat any of them!”

“Good” sighed Percival.

Gavin smiled and straightened down a bit.

“So what did they have to say Gavin?”

“Eh?”

“I swear you were born with a goldfish heart. The Arachnids Gavin, what did they have to say about our little problem?”

Gavin frowned, looked away and scratched his head with a wing claw. “Well, they said something about Sir Doran burning the daylight oil, and about not touching anything because they know that I’ll steal anything that isn’t nailed down you little oik…”

“Doran! Of course! He’ll be making his move any time now. Well? What else?”

“Hmm?” said Gavin, yawning and stretching his leathery wings.

“Did they say anything else?”

“Nnnnmmnn” replied Gavin, smacking his lips, “mnnnot sure exactly; something about opening a dressed wound.” His eyelids gently closed, and soon his snores reverberated around the cave.

Sir Percival snorted, then glanced down at the cave entrance. Bluish light was beginning to illuminate the portal, and he knew that dawn was coming. Well, there was nothing to be done for now he thought. As soon as the sun set he would have to visit the Arachnids himself to find out what their web of espionage and intrigue could reveal to him.

Doran’s plans for invasion would be stopped at any cost!

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Web of Intrigue

  1. towanderlost says:

    I really enjoyed the dialogue in this piece. I have to admit I laughed out loud at “you bloody twit.”

  2. Hmmm. Took me right back to T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone. But with magic portals! And Arachnids!

    Gavin is charmingly blockheaded. : )

    • Ah, I can see how my use of the word ‘portal’ may have been misleading; I had intended simply that it mean ‘door’ or ‘entrance’ rather than being magical 😉

  3. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: Musical Blueprints - bekindrewrite

Leave a Reply

