Writing

A to Z April Challengeriting is a bit of a bugger I have to say.

I know the rules.  Write something every day if possible, write every week as a minimum.  If you have writer’s block then there are writing prompts available on lots and lots of websites, Twitter etc and if all else fails then you can just do what I’m doing now, which is free writing.

I thought I should write another story or a poem beginning with ‘W’ for the A-Z April Challenge but quite frankly I wasn’t in the mood yesterday (when I should have written this post beginning with ‘W’ but did ‘V’ instead because I was too lazy to do things properly over the weekend).

So here I am free-writing.

The other thing about writing is that there are various articles on the web which go deep into the rules of genres, listing each characteristic of each genre as ‘tropes’.  Tropes are things that happen in that genre and which are unique to that genre; they tell you what genre you’re reading even if the setting doesn’t.  You might pick up a book and think you’re reading an erotic novel but then it switches to space and all of a sudden it’s science-fiction.  Well, sometimes blurbs can be a bit vague right?

Then there’s plot holes.  You know what I’m talking about.  As a reader you’re flowing along nicely when all of a sudden you mentally trip over a brick in the road.  That brick could be repetition or bad grammar, but it could also be a moment when you think ‘hang on a minute, why would they do that?  Why wouldn’t they just…?’.  I want to avoid all such bricks in my writing but I keep finding them and it’s very annoying.  I like to think I can do better than that.  Sometimes I look at my earlier work and I’m ok with it, sometimes I’m even proud, but quite often I’m my own worst critic and I will find mistakes.

Sometimes I wonder if I’m cut out for this, if I can write properly.  Sometimes I wonder if I give a damn or if I should just leave it all behind.  However, sometimes I get the urge to write something, a tugging or a pulling if you will.  Then, even if what I write is something I’m not entirely happy with, it’s cathartic and I find myself writing more.  Sometimes I’ll start off writing what I think will be a short piece but then I really get into the story,  watching it flow from my fingers, and then I feel like I should either cut it short or turn it into another mini-series.  I’ve read that the optimum size for blog post is around 400 words, so perhaps anything longer than that should be a mini-series.

Come to think of it, I’ve just written over 400 words so I should probably stop now…

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing

  1. patgarcia says:

    Hi,
    Writing is very challenging. The majority of the times we have to encourage ourselves.
    All the best with your book or your short stories.
    Visiting from the A to Z Blog Challenge.
    Shalom,
    Patricia at Everything Must Change

Leave a Reply

