Inroad

A to Z April Challenge 2015s it just me, or are we being watched?” Maya asked as the wagon trundled along the dusty mountain road.

Amadeo pursed his lips, set his jaw. “I wish it was just you.”

“Do you think they found us?” she asked, raising her eyebrows.

“It was just a matter of time. We’re traveling through their territory after all; to them we’re probably either invaders or prey. They might be tracking us right now.”

Maya looked around, scanning the rocky outcrops for signs of movement. “Why haven’t they attacked us yet?”

“I don’t know. Probably too open around here. There’s a pass up ahead though; they might ambush us there.”

“What do they look like?”

“I’m not sure; it’s been a while since I’ve come through this way, and I only caught a glimpse, but…”

A yipping sound to the right of them made him pause, and he pulled on the reins a little to slow the horses to a trot.

“Amadeo…” Maya began, laying a hand gently upon his forearm.

There was another yipping sound to the left, now another behind them.

“Get ready, they’re coming.”

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inroad

  1. Wendy says:

    I have absolutely no imagination to write stories. I’m glad you do.
    ~Visiting from AtoZ

  2. Hello Handbag says:

    Aaah! Who is coming?! I must know!!

    Stopping by from Pam’s Unconventional Alliance, best of luck on the Challenge!

Leave a Reply

