Hunt for the infernal beast – Pt 5

I love days like this.

The sun gleams in a cerulean sky, and the sweet earthy smell of petrichor fills the crisp autumn air.  Birds hop about the branches, trilling and warbling, and I feel leaves crunching and squishing underfoot.

I’m so glad the demented squire returned me to the forest, for the Baron and he had kept me chained in the courtyard, starving and beating me. Don’t know why I’m here, or if I’m truly free, but I’m making the most of it.

Wait, that smell…

…squire? Baron?

Yes!

At last I’ll have revenge!

I’ll tear the beasts apart!

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hunt for the infernal beast – Pt 5

  1. Ahh, and the bear itself to wrap things up. You had a great order to your voices — the squire’s nonsensical rhyming coming before this voice’s rather poetic descriptions created a marvellous contrast.

    All in all, I loved your story for this year’s Voice Week. 🙂

  2. Go bear! Nice ending. I have enjoyed reading your posts. Thank you.

  3. Pingback: Hunt for the infernal beast – Pt 5 | Blog of the imaginator | Voice Week HQ

  4. Love the beast’s appreciation of nature and the emphasis on smell.

    Also – congratulations on working “petrichor” into the narrative. I’m always trying to use it on naming projects at work, but mostly as a nerdy Doctor Who reference. Not because I have any great vocabulary.
    : P

    It’s been great reading your work all week – a fun collection of twists!

  5. Carrie says:

    Does no one ever learn? “Don’t poke the bear” There is a reason for that phrase! 🙂

  6. Evan says:

    I had my fingers crossed all week that we’d get to hear the bear’s side of things. So glad we did! Fantastic work this week, easily one of my favorite storylines.

  7. Parul says:

    The bear has plans of his own! I didn’t see this coming!
    Funnily, he seems to be the sanest of all! 😀

  8. elmowrites says:

    Finally, the bear. Seems like the young lad might get through this after all. The problem with training a bear – hwo do you know it understands its orders?!!

Leave a Reply

