Integration

Should have kept my mouth shut.

Everything’s changed now, too late for things to return to the way they were. I just had to do it didn’t I? Had to take that chance and vent my spleen.

It’s true what they say, you pays your money and you takes your choice.

So then I was taken to the Angel Yard to undergo age integration as part of the humanisation process; which for an angel amounts to super atrophy and a substantial degree of instilled muscle amnesia.

That’s right; they’re making me mortal, just like you.

The right thing for me they said, given the circumstances.

What would they know? It’s me strung up here in the tank, seemingly unfit to be tied to whatever plans they might have.

Whatever; thing is, heaven and purgatory are one and the same to us. It’s all one big bureaucracy, all one big machine running on recycled spiritual energy. We’re told that there’s a reason why we’re keeping this vast system running, a reason for the perpetual banality of our lot in life as cogs in this artifice; that there’ll be a light at the end of the tunnel.

After countless millennia of toil I’d decided I’d had enough, and I told them that I wanted to see that light. You know what they did? They showed me what that light was.

Of course, they had to put me in the tunnel first.

I can hardly remember anything now though. My memories are fading, merging into half-forgotten dreams. Somewhere deep inside, I know that this is all part of the process.

There is a light at the end of the tunnel.

The last of my previous self is slipping away in the darkness now as I approach that light, as I see a human slowly reaching out to me with gloved hands, a surgical mask covering their face.

I scream.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Integration

  1. Thomas Marlowe says:

    Very clever – the description of the world of the angel and then that wonderful, logical, perfect twist at the end. Splendid.

  2. tnkerr says:

    I like this – I feel that an “angel for millennia” will figure it out soon enough and have a great life as a mortal. The subconscious alone should ensure that. In my mind, there is hope here.

  3. lyssamedana says:

    Actually this is really hopeful. Thank you for sharing this Lyssa M x

  4. Joe says:

    Clever spin on the prompt, and what a fantastic ending. Well-done!

  5. Ink of the Soul / C.R. Jennings says:

    This was terrific! 🙂 The twist at the end was so good!! I always really enjoy your writes!! Thank you!

  6. Stephanie says:

    Very cool. Gripping from the start, with some cool world-building along with character-building and a unique perspective to finish on. A few lines reminded me a little of The Great Divorce.

  7. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: Window Lizards - bekindrewrite

Leave a Reply

