A father’s art

Copyright-Ted Strutz

Ah, Halloween again!

Inhaling deeply of the fresh mountain air as he gazed at the lake outside the window, Clive smiled and sighed before glancing down at the dentists’ chair and the gleaming instruments arranged on the tray beside it.

Malcolm screamed as Clive picked up a sharp scalpel.

“Father! Nooo!”

“It’s alright Malcolm; just sit back and relax.” Clive replied as he applied the scalpel, shortly afterwards replacing it and picking up a gouger.

Malcolm writhed and screamed even louder.

“No father! Please, not THAT!”

“Malcolm…”

“Stop! STOP!”

“Malcolm, I’m only carving a pumpkin; it’s not high art.”

“Philistine!”

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to A father’s art

  1. Horus says:

    Superb !! 😀

  2. Haha just a pumpkin! Love it.

  3. What a hilarious twist at the end. 😀 I really laughed. Dad apparently believes he’s an artist and is reliving his youth, but Malcolm disagrees. Well written. 😀 —Susan

  4. Oh that sweet pumpkin… where’s his compassion…?

  5. Grand piece. You pulled us right along ’til the end.

  6. Great build-up and a fun look at father-son relationships

  7. Shandra says:

    Good Ole Clive !

  8. Thar poor child to be that fearful of his own father.

  9. Great fun. Had me worried for a while.

  10. sandraconner says:

    You had me cringing right up to the next to the last line. So I’d say this is a success.

  11. ContactRida says:

    haha! didn’t see that one coming. superb!

  12. Oh thank god! Those screams were terrifying 😀

  13. Got me on that one. Good job!

  14. MM Jaye says:

    Clive, the evil pumkin carver! That was fun!

    Greetings from Greece!
    Maria (MM Jaye)

  15. Lucy says:

    I’ve been called a Philistine a few times. Loved it. Great take on the prompt. Very well done. Lucy

  16. hugmamma says:

    Scary…yet not. Especially since you set the occasion first. I guess I feel sorry for the pumpkin. 😦

  17. You got me on that one. And I was immensely relieved. Enjoyed this very much.

Leave a Reply

