Warmth

Copyright – Douglas M. MacIlroy

It was a chilly night.

Edith lay back and snuggled into the sofa, feet up on the coffee table in front of her.

She gazed smiling at a glowing image of a woodblock print displayed on her tablet, Tama River in Musashi Province by Hokusa. “If you’re fond of sand dunes and salty air…” Patti Page’s voice crooned, as Edith gazed at the beach in the picture.

A warm glow filled her as her eyes wandered up over at the teaspoon and lighter on the coffee table.

Yes, a cold night.

Good thing she had another hit in her handbag.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Warmth

  1. Until that one more hit turns into one too many…Good story.

  2. Sad truth that many people prefer those trips to the real ones… sad indeed.

  3. The best way to enjoy that print!

  4. Does anyone just drink wine anymore???

  5. The teaspoon had me heading in that direction, but then I thought “nah!” Didn’t think I could do it just; you did. πŸ˜‰ Great piece.

  6. Seems you and I went in the same direction this go around! Well done. Cheers. Alicia

  7. Dear TheImaginator: Love the story – I saw that spoon and kind of thought “What’s it doing there?” Well, now I know, good story! By the way, I like Dawn’s comment above – Me? I like Vodka! Da! Nan πŸ™‚

  8. Good story. I like my dreams to come with natural sleep. That’s habit-forming too, but in a good way. Well written. πŸ™‚ —Susan

  9. A last line kick in the head. Beautifully done.

  10. Sounds like Edith’s staying where she is for a while. Great take on the prompt

  11. sandraconner says:

    Oh, my! Your ending packed a surprise punch. Good writing, but a sad story. I have a friend whose grandson just died from an overdose two weeks ago. A tragic life.

  12. unspywriter says:

    Ah, we were of like minds for this prompt. I like yours better.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/creature-comforts/

Leave a Reply

