Insomnia

A dream hath the power to poison sleep
Nay, not sleeping dream but living nightmare
Night and day are one as my thoughts doth leap
I yearn for the void, yet time hath no care
Laying down at night to rest weary bones

Daemons dance jeering behind mine eyelids
Phantoms pity me for they hear my moans
Morn arrives, the birds mock as daemons did
Oh woe is me for no succour hath I!

No drink nor drug canst put me under long
An hour or less out of time and mind
Then daemons and birds return with their song
Now a spectre am I, pale and morose

Sanity flees as in vain mine eyes close

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Insomnia

  1. Poor fellow! Lovely evocation of a trouble soul, and in a splendidly traditional format too.

  2. lyssamedana says:

    I have a soft spot for a sonnet, and it’s a very, very good description of insomnia. Thank you for jumping in to Light and Shade. It’s really good to see you. LM x

  3. steph says:

    Yikes, a fine description of how insomnia will drive you insane. And in sonnet form… not easy to accomplish.. nicely done.

  4. Joe says:

    That is some deeply troubled, permanently poisoned sleep! Poor man. Crisp, vivid, and efficient writing. I’ve known a hint of such madness, and you capture its more extreme form here – beautifully.

Leave a Reply

