Convergence

Canal workers on strike

Canal Workers (Suez Canal). CC Photo by Hossam el-Hamalawy.

Knowledge is power, so they say; power to control the seemingly arbitrary machinations of fate.

It’s knowledge that I’m seeking now as I stand here masquerading as a woman in a burqa, anonymous in a crowd of thousands of disgruntled workers protesting outside the Suez Canal Authority headquarters.

They don’t know that it’s not a phone or a compact video camera that I’m holding in my hand.

They don’t know that I’m not from around these parts.

The readings on the instrument I’m holding probably wouldn’t make sense to them, but they’re all too clear to me. In the figures and symbols I see eddies and whorls of energy converging, dimensional boundaries overlapping…and this is happening exponentially faster with each passing moment.

A paradigm shift.

Here. Soon.

I wasn’t expecting this to happen for a while; I haven’t had time to prepare for the arrival of my kinsfolk.

Dammit.

Now what?

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Convergence

  1. Alice Audrey says:

    LOL. Love the last lines.

  2. Lyssa Medana says:

    That is very intriguing, and I love the idea of the burqa being a disguise for something unusual.

    I’ve been talking to Thomas Marlowe and we are both missing the Trifecta Challenge. One thing led to another and we have decided to set up Light and Shade Challenge where there are prompts twice every week and a chance to share what inspiration strikes.

    We are not trying to be the same as Trifecta. They were awesome and I miss them. We do have some really exciting ideas of our own, though, and can’t wait to see what happens. It would be great if you could come and join us and see where this journey takes us. Good writers are always welcome. If you have any questions then get in touch either on the Light and Shade Challenge Blog http://lightandshadechallenge.blogspot.co.uk/ or on the Facebook page. It would be wonderful to hear from you. Lyssa M x

Leave a Reply

