Behind the lights

Guitar players in bar

Copyright – Björn Rudberg

I sit on stage, in the darkness behind the wall of lights.

The light blinds me to my audience.

I see my lines scrolling down from on high in the darkness behind my eyes, the darkness in my mind.  Chords scroll sequentially from one side of the stage to the other as my fingers hit the fret board.  My mouth opens, and I adjust my voice to the appropriate pitch for each line, each word. I’m the perfect accompaniment to the old man who plays and sings beside me.

Then he reaches over, touches the back of my head.

Darkness.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Behind the lights

  1. faithsfire says:

    Weird, good, but weird! 🙂

  2. Oh really creepy. Nothing like having the music play you.

  3. Alice Audrey says:

    “You” are a robotic player? 🙂

  4. Glad I read the comments. You managed a unique POV on this one. Good job.

    janet

  5. Nan Falkner says:

    What happened? Did he hurt her? This is well done – but I’m an oaf today and I think I’m being played too. Oh well, it’s a wonderful job and good story! Thanks, Nan

  6. R. E. Hunter says:

    Didn’t see that twist coming at all. Well done.

  7. I also didn’t understand the story until I read your explanation in the comments. I suppose one day that will be a reality. Good imaginative story and well written. 🙂

  8. The end of the story was a delightful surprise! Like Nan, I’m a bit of an oaf today so thanks for the explanation. I love the idea of being able to turn something off if you no longer want to hear it. Well, done.

Leave a Reply

