Musgrove does it again

“Well done Musgrove!  You’ve managed to manipulate them into thinking we’re outnumbered!” exclaimed The Lord Davenport-Whit as he brought his horse up beside the General.

“Yes my lord.” replied General Musgrove, a grin on one side of his face as he surveyed the relentless march of enemy troops swarming the land.

“I’m very glad that you supported this idea of mine” Davenport-Whit continued as the General rolled his eyes.  “Yes, we’ll have them Musgrove.”

The wind howled across the blasted plains, pennants cracked like whips.  The horses whinnied and snorted, shaking their manes and pawing at the ground, nostrils flared.

“I say Musgrove, is there something that you want to say to me?” enquired Davenport-Whit, frowning and tugging at the reins of his errant steed.

“About the impending massacre my Lord?”

“Well, yes, erm…no Musgrove, the other matter.”

“My Lord?”

“Oh don’t play coy with me man!  Y’know damned fine what I’m talking about – Colonel Vanderbilt’s cousin, Lady Fitzcharles!”

“Lady Fitzcharles my Lord?”

“Yes!  You don’t approve of her; you think that she’s an enemy spy.  Well I think she’s a fine filly, jolly decent sort, so there.”

“Quite so my Lord.”

“Thoroughly reliable, loyal to her fellows.”

“Indeed my Lord, in fact I took this into consideration when I told her that we would ride here.”

“Musgrove!  Did you really?”

“Yes my Lord” General Musgrove replied as his horse turned to face the mountains which loomed behind them.  He held a small mirror aloft, causing it to glint in the evening light.  Then he brought his arm down, swiftly.

Thousands of arrows fell upon the enemy and their horses as they charged screaming into stakes part-hidden in the ground.

“I say Musgrove, you’ve done it again!” as the company of nine galloped into the foothills. “Jolly good show!”

***

Inspired by the ‘Jeeves & Wooster’ stories by P.G. Wodehouse.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Musgrove does it again

  1. Glynis says:

    Musgrove is a good man to have at your side not matter the reason. Enjoyed!

  2. Mike says:

    I loved the tone of this piece and in particular the dialogue, made me smile.

  3. Neat piece – Love how you incorporated that mirror.

  4. TNT says:

    I really enjoyed the scene you painted here. The addition of the third character was spot on. I can’t compete with your dialogue. Really enjoyed the story. Wish I could figure out that mirror, and know more about this world these characters live in.
    This was especially nice: “The wind howled across the blasted plains, pennants cracked like whips. The horses whinnied and snorted, shaking their manes and pawing at the ground, nostrils flared.” Well done.

  5. atrm61 says:

    Loved the dialogues and the clever Musgrove-everyone should be blessed with such “assistants” ;-)Jolly good,Imaginator 😀 (Have always loved PGW,so this was like visiting an old friend).

  6. Writing Wodehouse style is hard, but I love reading it when it’s done well. Good job!

  7. Lyssa Medana says:

    I love the sound of Musgrove! And I loved the dialogue. LM x

  8. Well done.. why not a little wry humor amidst the disasters.

Leave a Reply

