Horny goat head

Say what you like, but unless you’re wearing that big-ass goat’s head it won’t make a damned bit of difference.  Not any old goat’s head though, had to be that particular one.

Swann won it after a gig one night while we were playing poker with some old hippie who was pretending he was some kind of voodoo mystic.  Well, we thought he was pretending.  It was weird.  I mean, he looked totally unconvincing, but then there was this one moment when he glanced at me and I saw this hard glint in his eye and his face flickered like a broken TV set, just for a second…

Figured it was the booze and drugs.

Anyway we all woke up back in our tour bus and thought nothing of it, until Turner dared Swann to stick that thing on his head for that night’s gig.  We started with one of the tracks from our first album, ‘Black Light’; we chose ‘Digital Ghost’.

So there we are; I’m making the air throb with dirty bass vibes, Prior’s shredding chords with his axe and Dave’s pounding the skins, warming up the crowd before Swann marches on wearing that damned goat’s head.

The crowd went wild, and Swann launched into it.

“Yeah you hear my voice and now I’ve got your soul

I’m in your head like a digital ghost

I’m gonna haunt your mind and take control

I’m in your head like a digital ghost

You take off all your clothes and dance for me

Cos’ I’m in your head like a digital ghost…”

We couldn’t believe our eyes when everybody started taking off their clothes.  Everybody.  Women.  Men.  Security.

Everybody.

Not us though.  We figured out later that it only works on people you’re looking at.  Swann had fun with this; we all did, until the men in black suits turned up one day and took the goat’s head from us.  Didn’t matter by then though; that track was at the top of the charts for weeks and went platinum.

Of course, we bought another goat’s head for Swann.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Horny goat head

  1. Stephanie says:

    Ha! Has a very real, amusing vibe, despite the creepiness of the subject. Also made me think of Bottom wearing the ass’s head in Midsummer Night’s Dream. : )

  2. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: Don’t Look Up - bekindrewrite

Leave a Reply

