Kiosk demon

I was polishing a beaker when Wilson marched up to my kiosk, somewhat out of breath, set his hands on his hips and opened his mouth to speak.

“We’re closed Mr Wilson, but we’ll be open first thing in the morning as usual” I said, cutting him off.

He raised his eyebrows and blinked a few times.  “I, I’m not here for that, demon.  I require information.”

“My pleasure; our product information is available on our website, please take a card.”

“I mean about the kidnapped child.”

Oh, that.  Wilson was an amateur PI and a poor one, but tenacious.

“Little Fredrick?”

“Yes, Fredrick, I, I mean Freddy.”

I started putting bottles away.

“Well demon?”

“Well what Wilson?”

“Any word on the street?”

“Nope.”

As if I would tell him anything.

I needed that ransom money.  Damned if I was going to be a ‘Devil’s Brew’ vendor much longer.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kiosk demon

  1. Harliqueen says:

    This was really good, I love the dialogue 🙂

  2. Okay, this is probably the best “opening hook” I’ve seen come off a VisDare in a LONG time. As in, I could see a short novel spinning off this one very easily. LOVE it!!!

Leave a Reply

