Beast

Its teeth pierced and rent the flesh, jaws clamping down on intestines as fluids spurted and dripped from its maw.

A thunderous crash nearby caused the beast to look up, ears twitching upwards as it sniffed the air, all senses attuned in the gloom of its mountain den.  Something was here, a human, and it was approaching…

Suddenly the chamber was flooded with sunlight; through narrowed eyes the beast saw the human, removing wooden boards from windows.  He turned and smiled at the beast, walked over and patted it on the head.

“Hey boy!  How are those sausages eh?”

House on mountainside

Copyright – Björn Rudberg

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Beast

  1. Adam Ickes says:

    Splendid twist on that one. Though I’m sure it would have been just as good a tale (although with a very different ending) if it were a different type of beast.

  2. draliman says:

    Brilliant twist! I’m glad I’d already finished my dinner after reading that first sentence. Put me right off sausages (until tomorrow anyway) 🙂

  3. glossarch says:

    Good surprise at the end! Just one note – “cartilaginous” sounds strange juxtaposed with “intestines.” Maybe something that evokes the same fleshiness without the reference to bones?

  4. Great little thriller. Gentle ending.

  5. Haha I love surprise endings like this. Mighty beast that was! Great story 😀

  6. Quite a hound… or maybe just a chihuaha with great self confidence 🙂

  7. Dear Imaginator,

    I loved the twist at the end. I really didn’t see it coming. I’m sure every dog sees itself as a fearsome beast. Nice one.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. Yup, I agree with Rochelle. I love that you took it from horror to normalcy, rather the the opposite.

    janet

  9. Subroto says:

    Good one, I too have a ‘beast’ who makes short work of sausages.

  10. atrm61 says:

    Ah,a great twist that the beast turned out to be a pet :-)But wonder why the “human” had boarded up the den-was the human the real beast then?

Leave a Reply

