Out of the blue

Roofless pink shack on beach

Copyright – Dawn Q. Landau

I studied a crumpled handwritten note that I’d discovered in the puzzle box Piotr left at my apartment right before he’d died, killed by a bolt of lightning from out of the blue.

A roofless pink shack on a boulder, steps cut into the seaweed strewn rock, sat on the beach nonchalantly.  I took a deep breath; the acrid tang of saltwater and dead fish rushed up my nostrils, put its clammy hands around my lungs.

This was the spot the crazy bastard said I’d find it alright, but he hadn’t said exactly where.

I’d need to get my tools.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Out of the blue

  1. Dear Imaginator,

    Where will he dig first? Interesting.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. I take it he was in the roofless shack when he was struck dead. I think he must have stolen Odin’s gold. 🙂

  3. Joe Owens says:

    Lightning is a gruesome end. Shocking one might say, but really shouldn’t. I have missed seeing you here.

  4. claireful says:

    What is he going to find.. dah, dah daaa!

  5. I enjoyed both your story and your choice of descriptive words.

    janet

  6. liz young says:

    Believe me, digging won’t be an option. Dynamite, perhaps?

  7. Linda Vernon says:

    Ah! I liked this. I love a story that I can actually smell!!!

  8. Lynda says:

    There’s been a lot of romance taken from this prompt. Guilty! 😉
    Nice to have a different perspective and a treasure hunt to boot!

  9. pattisj says:

    “clammy hands around my lungs” Not a good feeling! I hope he finds what he’s looking for.

  10. draliman says:

    Ooh, what could it be?!
    I can almost smell the dead fish, very descriptive.

  11. I want to know what ‘it’ is! I loved the description of the smell and feel of the air.

  12. unspywriter says:

    And what will be found? Nothing good, I suspect. 😉

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/sirens-song/

Leave a Reply

