The Highway

Figure trapped within mirror

Photo Source: Morbid Silence

I approached one of the mirrors in the gloom of the chamber, appalled by the despair that filled me as I looked upon the plight of the blurred figure feebly beating its palms upon the other side of the glass.

“You can’t help her.  That one fell by the wayside, and is trapped in the mists.”

I turned and saw the painted woman who had entered this room before me, emerging from the shadows as a drop emerges from water, her face still partially obscured by the hood of her robe.

“What is this place?  What happened here, to these people?  Who are you?”

“My name is unimportant.  This place, what happened here, will happen to the entire empire, unless we can stop it.  You and your companion will come with me now.  We must go, to the Highway.

Lillie McFerrin Writes
About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing, Shrouded City and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Highway

  1. tempestletrope says:

    Cool!

  2. Good endeavor. I hate to be picky today [please excuse the mood I’m in today] I thought we’re limited to only 5 sentences.

  3. Pingback: #FiveSentenceFiction: Highway | Of Glass & Paper

Leave a Reply

