The Marshals

Disassembled manequin

Copyright – Sean Fallon

The lack of electricity was just the start.  Ever since the Government announced there wasn’t enough drinking water to supply everybody, things have turned to shit in more than one way.

I mean, we used to use drinking water to flush the toilet, y’know?

So now we have marauding gangs looting and rioting, on an endless smash and grab spree, trying to gather and hoard as much tinned food and bottled water as they can.  The police can’t cope, nor can the army.

We need the marshals.

Trouble is, the damned things are lying in bits and pieces everywhere…

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Marshals

  1. I’m a bit confused as to why “the marshals” link takes me back to Rochelle’s page, rather than to some bit of edification as to whom or what the marshals were. Other than that, I enjoyed your bit of the always-dreary and horrifying future.

    janet

  2. H. Ken Abell says:

    Interesting concept (having read the comments about the marshalls).

  3. Steve Lakey says:

    If the marauding gangs haven’t stolen all the superglue, there is still hope for us all!

  4. Dear Imaginator,

    It would seem that society is in a mell of a hess, if the marshals are in pieces. I wondered at the link leading back to my page. Thanks for the explanation. A worthy take on the prompt.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  5. You’ve got a whole world here in 100 words. It’s a frightening one but utterly believable.

  6. Linda Vernon says:

    Oh I like how you wove in the flyers in the window into this story. I love the line about flushing toilets with drinking water. I’m already hating those marshals!

  7. I love this. It’s very steampunk.

  8. Pingback: Friday Fictioneers – Hangover | The Blurred Line

  9. Your futuristic journeys always amuse and impress. Nice work Imaginator. I agree with Victoria; steampunk is exactly what came to mind!

  10. zookyworld says:

    When I first read “the marshals,” I thought of the U.S. Marshals — but then read about them being robots in the comments. The savage future in your story is indeed frightening — we’ll certainly need droid soldiers or something to help us out. Maybe some survivors can piece together the droids, re-animate some for bodyguards. Good story.

  11. Neat view of bleak world, well told.

  12. Glynis says:

    I love this Speculative fiction got the content of the Marshals too and thought it was wonderful. Great write!

Leave a Reply

