Danni

uncle rudy

Photo credit: two stout monks

Ok, so that’s Grandma Annabelle down there in that hole, and that’s her sister Agnes over there giving that drunk the evil eye, so she’s my great aunt or something.

Man, that guy’s really wasted, swaying around and everything; maybe he’ll fall into the hole with Grandma!  Wait, he looks familiar…oh, I remember – from Grandma’s photo album –that’s Christopher isn’t it?

So like, Mom and Chris are cousins; so I’m like his cousin twice removed or something?

Whatever. Man, I really loved Grandma but this funeral’s a total drag.

I wanna hang out at the mall with my friends…

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Danni

  1. jubilare says:

    I have been there with the trying to figure out who relatives are. My mother’s side of the family, especially, is huge.
    New and distinct! Very teenager-esque.

  2. Pingback: Danni | Blog of the imaginator | Voice Week HQ

  3. Well done fourth! Definitely a teenager, probably a girl. I like her wondering if Christopher is going to fall in. That’s hilarious. The last line reminds me of an article I read recently about kids taking selfies at funerals. It’s not that they don’t care about the dead – maybe it’s more like a form of denial in the stages of grief.

  4. evan72 says:

    Big family, lots of confusion…I empathize. Out of curiosity, he or she? I see it as a guy, but it could go either way. Nice job and great voice!

  5. elmowrites says:

    Interesting – she says she loves Grandma but there’s not a lot of emotion here, just a lot of studying family relations. Another very different voice!

  6. It’s amazing how easily things can glide over a teenager’s head. 😉

    You can sense the obligation in her presence–I’m guessing “her”, anyway–as well as a sort of naivety, like she hasn’t really thought about the fact that this Grandma, who she loves, is truly gone.

    Wonderfully written!

  7. It seems like no one gives a flying fart about poor Annabell; I feel like she’s the main character in this story, she must have done something to make everyone hate her. The detachment of even her own granddaughter is really stirring

  8. yikici says:

    You nail each voice with perfect panache…I love the thought process of this teenager, really brilliant. 🙂

Leave a Reply

