Christopher

First, apologies for not having written this yesterday and I don’t want to make excuses but I was on a date last night and this project slipped my mind.

It’s the Be Kind – Re-write Voice Week challenge that I’m talking about, so here’s the post I should have done yesterday.

***

uncle rudy

Photo credit: two stout monks

Look at ‘em all, hunched up aroun’ the grave in long black coats like a committee of damned vultures; prob’ly didn’t know the ole biddy any more’n I did.

S’posed to be my great Aunt Annabella, or Arrabella or somebody.

Christ, I need a drink.  Damned wake’s not for another half an hour, ‘nother half if’n you add travellin’ time.  God’s sake woman, get in yer hole already!

Who’s that scowling at me o’er there?  Face like a dried up prune…hell, that’s Grandmaw!  Cantankerous witch’s still alive huh?  This calls for a sip from the hip-flask.

Here’s to you, hag!

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Christopher

  1. jubilare says:

    Hah! This one impresses me as a self-centered jerk. I’m assuming young-adult, but he or she could easily be in her forties, too. Well captured!

  2. Pingback: Christopher | Blog of the imaginator | Voice Week HQ

  3. Haha, love the accent, the colorful descriptions. This guy amuses me. Especially: “God’s sake woman, get in yer hole already!”

  4. evan72 says:

    What a fun voice! An absolute pleasure to read. Can’t wait to hear more!

  5. elmowrites says:

    I’m laughing out loud. Great character, real sense of what he’s all about. I can’t wait to hear the other voices.

  6. haha, this person is so dry and cynical that it has some level of charm to it. definitely an intriguing scene and voice.

  7. Haha! What a brutally cynical man. Great character development and a powerful voice. 🙂

  8. Carrie says:

    Love the attitude. All he wants is some booze 🙂 Great voice

  9. yikici says:

    I can imagine the scene well and this character just stands out..great depiction, really a fun and refreshing read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

