Agnes

uncle rudy

Photo credit: two stout monks

Well, as I live and breathe…just look at him; hasn’t changed a bit, besides looking more sallow and uncouth than before – if that’s possible!

That boy was always a problem; running off at the mouth, acted like the world owed him a favour, no respect for himself or his elders and betters.  I told his mother, God rest her soul, I said, you need to take that boy in hand before it’s too late; wide are the gates that lead to temptation…

He’s probably drunk as usual…yes, there he goes taking another swig from that flask of his.

Oh, Christopher.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Agnes

  1. jubilare says:

    I’m slow sometimes. I just caught the name-titles. So person 1 is a “he.” Age still undetermined, but it’s nice getting a new angle on him. Agnes seems a bit stuffy, but I think she has Christopher’s number anyway. I am looking forward to the next perspective!

  2. Pingback: Agnes | Blog of the imaginator | Voice Week HQ

  3. That first sentence gives us a feel for her right away. Older lady, a bit elitist, the type who doesn’t hesitate to tell other parents (her own daughter, I’m guessing) how to raise their children. Nice.

  4. evan72 says:

    Ah, righteous. Such a stark opposite from yesterday…can’t wait to see how this pans out!

  5. elmowrites says:

    I wonder if this is the granny from yesterday? Anyway, I really got her voice and scathing character. good job.

  6. ooh, sass. and judgment. maybe the grandma he just noticed? it’s really consistent and distinct, sharp and direct.

  7. From the sense we got from Christopher’s voice, I’d say this Agnes is right on the money! A no-nonsense, rather likeable lady. 🙂

  8. Carrie says:

    Another great Voice. You have a definite gift!

  9. yikici says:

    You craft these voices brilliantly, these words are just jumping off the page, it’s delightful to read.

Leave a Reply

