Out of my hands

disassembled keyboard

Copyright – Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

So, they found it.

Bastards.

There’s me thinking I was clever, hiding it inside that old keyboard, but no.  They’re very thorough, these people.

Ah well, chalk it down to experience I suppose.  I’ll have to phone Larry; he won’t be pleased, but then why the fuck didn’t he put the thing in a safe under the floor or behind a painting?

Didn’t he realise that they had equipment to detect this thing, even though it was inactive, not connected to anything?

Well, I’m certainly not taking the blame for this; it’s all on Larry.

Damned if I’m retrieving it.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Out of my hands

  1. Dear Imaginator,

    Cant help wondering what the “thing” was. Intriguing.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. paulscribbles says:

    Hmmm…intriguing indeed…Is Larry a spy? Are you? What was it that could be detected even when it was ‘off’…Got me…when’s the next chapter?

  3. You left that nicely open for our fertile imaginations. But then, you are the Imaginator! 🙂

    janet

  4. I think if they were that thorough, there wouldn’t be many safe places. Also, I’m not sure what the odds are of getting it back now.

  5. yarnspinnerr says:

    Good one, btw what is it?

    🙂

  6. mike olley says:

    It was great not knowing which side of the line (good guys / bad guys) this story was being told from. I wouldn’t want to be in Larry’s shoes.

  7. DCTdesigns says:

    Ooooo! I love a good mystery. Whatever is the “thing” they took. Love how he deflects blame on his cohort. Now I say chalk it up not down. Is that how it’s phrased on the other side of the pond?

  8. OMG…they have gotten the micro chip. You can’t leave it up to Larry. You must retrieve it! The fate of the family is depending on you.

  9. well someone has to retrieve that thing…

  10. MythRider says:

    It’s only 100 words, didn’t have room for the thing, but plenty enough room for imagination.
    Well done.

  11. pattisj says:

    Larry is NOT going to be happy.

  12. Larry sounds like even more a bastard… Out to retrieve it next I’m afraid.

  13. Locomente says:

    And I keep wondering…
    “What thing?”

  14. But then, wouldn’t they detect it behind a painting as well? Larry… what a fool! Nice job.

  15. I think your characters and mine may have crossed paths a time or two. Great story!

  16. elappleby says:

    Clever take! And I don’t think we need to know what thing it is – a perfect open-ended tale.

  17. Oooh, and now I’m intrigued! Great work 🙂

  18. Great story. I’d wanted to try something along these lines but couldn’t make it work. I envy you your flair.

  19. Jan Brown says:

    Very clever! Enjoyed this very much 🙂

  20. unspywriter says:

    I liked how you didn’t tell us what “it” was. That heightened the mystery and made us want to get to the end; yet, there was no disappointment. A well-structured tale.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/noisy-ghost/

  21. draliman says:

    Larry, you mad fool! The keyboard’s always the first place they look 🙂
    I love how the exact nature of the “thing” is left to our imagination

  22. Exactly what I thought. Very well written and amusing tale. I had the same viewpoint in my story, only they took Larry (Max in my story) when they couldn’t find the data. In my story, I have the data with me – we would never trust hiding it in our house.

  23. Steve Lakey says:

    Love the ambiguity! Keeps the story edgy.

  24. Excellent story, very well told.
    Love it.

  25. sandraconner says:

    Very nicely done. I hope next week’s prompt is something that will allow you to give us the next installment of this story.

Leave a Reply

