Drowning my sorrows

A bar with all the bottles backlit.

A bar with all the bottles backlit. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m scared.

Scared I’ll let my fears overcome me.

Scared that I’ll ply my ego with drink, and let it drown my fears.

Scared I’ll spend money I don’t have.

Drink.

Forget.

Repeat.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Drowning my sorrows

  1. People drink to drown their fears and sorrows but they alwasy seem to float around.

  2. Sandra says:

    Sometimes that’s the way it goes. For a while anyway.

  3. theinnerzone says:

    The endless cycle of fear and trying to drown it…

  4. We all numb ourselves from life’s troubles. It is just that the wrong escapes cause more problems than we can escape.

  5. Lumdog says:

    You’ve aptly captured an all too common fear.

  6. Draug419 says:

    Awesome work.

  7. jannatwrites says:

    Alcohol is a scary merry-go-round that I’ve seen people struggle to get off of. Frightening, indeed.

  8. I read an article once that talked about a few different animals in the kingdom and the way they dull their senses, too. Made me feel a little less terrible about it. 🙂 Thanks for linking up. Don’t forget to vote.

  9. KymmInBarcelona says:

    The fear of addiction, heeding temptation, caving in to the numbing. Yup.

  10. troy P. says:

    Very powerful, and a vivid warning.

Leave a Reply

