On the flooded plains

Shopping trolleys on a flooded plain

Copyright – Janet Webb

The digitigrade stood up, dull grey carapace dripping and, strutting about on its tall bird-like legs, turned to the direction of the mournful howling it had heard.  Seeing this, two of its smaller fellows also roused themselves from the the chill murky waters and slowly walked over together to find out what was happening.

Ignoring the two runts, the alpha male bayed in response across the flat, featureless expanse of the flooded plains.

Before long, another appeared on the horizon, where the dark cloudy sky met the waters, another male…an adversary!

Roaring in defiance, the alpha males charged in earnest.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to On the flooded plains

  1. Sandra says:

    How graphic was this! Excellent take on the prompt.

  2. Ye Pirate says:

    Very good description – like a wildlife film..

  3. Great angle.
    AnElephant is stamping here!

  4. I imagine each of us sees the creatures differently, but we all see them graphically, thanks to your story. Very well done. And I’ve come to the end of another line of stories. Hurrah!! I love reading, but sometimes the amount seems to grow ten times faster than I can read. 🙂

    janet

  5. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Imaginator,

    I loved the name of your creatures and the evocation of the prompt in the use of the words, ‘flooded plains’. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  6. I’ve always known those shopping cart beasties were up to no good at night when the lights went out.
    Fun story

  7. If only the carts had lances!

  8. zookyworld says:

    A neat dramatic build-up, like I was watching a nature show and this was the narrator telling me the action. Thankfully, your story is written rather than spoken, so I was able to look up digitigrade and carapace. Two new words for me in one sentence — you’re expanding my vocabulary!

  9. I like where your mind went with this prompt. In a way, very similar to mine!

  10. Boy these shopping trollies are really animated lately. Must be those murky waters.

  11. Dear Imaginator,

    Your story put me in mind of some old sci fi flicks such as Godzilla. I saw your creatures as larger than life. Good thing for me the movie was dubbed. I don’t speak Japanese.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  12. Mike says:

    Great take on the prompt. I could picture these alpha male trolleys doing battle.

  13. Fabulous description and scene setting. I’m having so much fun seeing what can be done with three shopping carts. Nice contribution!

  14. They looked so peaceful.. but a little like a herd of animals … clever take.

Leave a Reply

