Anouke and the jewel thief

A man in a business suit unscrewed the ruby from the ring of the bronze statue of a huntress, held it up to the light, marvelling that the museum hadn’t put the statue behind a glass case.

Pocketing the gem, he sauntered away.

A bronze arrow whistled through the air, thudded into the back of his neck with such force that he was thrown forward and pinned to the door.  His hand went up, touched the shaft briefly before his legs gave out; his arm fell limply by his side.

Anouke lowered her longbow and stepped off the plinth she had been standing on.  In smooth and fluid strides she glided over to the corpse, retrieved the jewel from inside its fist, affixed it to her ring then returned to the pedestal and stood just as she had been before, whereupon her skin and clothes hardened to bronze once more.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Anouke and the jewel thief

  1. djmatticus says:

    And I will never feel safe walking next to a statue again…

  2. Nada Adel says:

    Love it!
    Glad I wrote my piece first though – so that I don’t feel bad with the similarities between our two pieces.

    *applause to Anouke and to you*

  3. Eek. Reminds me of those weeping angels in Dr Who. I won’t be turning my bac on Anouke any time soon!

  4. Ooh. I loved the twist on this. I’m a sucker for things that are more than they seem. 🙂

  5. Steve Lakey says:

    Who needs Security, when you’ve got Anouke? Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

