The Thunder Grill

Shopping mall

Copyright – Dawn M. Miller

Idelle looked around the mall as her mother cooed over a necklace at the jewellery stand.  She’d seen the necklaces, they were all the same; gold chains, some of them had pretty stones in them.

Her mother was taking forever.

The smell of meat from the nearby Thunder Grill caught her attention.

Groups of people were seated around a barbecue pit, waiting for their meat.  They didn’t know which kind they would get; if the third person in a group got turkey then it was free…

There was a bang and a flash, a loud cheer erupted.

Idelle’s stomach rumbled.

***

Combined prompts from Trifecta and Friday Fictioneers (same story for both).

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The Thunder Grill

  1. Dear Imaginator,

    I’m with Idelle. The smell of meat on the grill always catches my attention as did your story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. misskzebra says:

    I had to read that a couple of times before I understood what was going on, very inventive!

  3. Joe Owens says:

    Even though it is over two hours until lunch time i want to smell what is on the grill. You did a great job of pulling me into your story.

  4. I’ve always found the idea of “choose your own” amusing. You choose your own lobster at Red Lobster — what if you could go to a steakhouse and meet the cow?
    Very amusing tale, darling.

  5. jannatwrites says:

    Shopping on someone else’s agenda isn’t fun. I’d be distracted by grilled meat, too 🙂

  6. zookyworld says:

    An eclectic place to have a jewelry stand and a barbeque pit restaurant… reminds me of shopping malls with so many different types of stores and restaurants. I can totally understand Idelle’s distraction… the cooking meat, the bang and flash… much more exciting than a gold chain necklace.

  7. Draug419 says:

    I have to admit I have no idea what’s going on here. I think it’s over my head, or I’m just not awake enough. In either case, I definitely know the feeling of being stuck to another’s whims. That’s why I shop alone nowadays haha

    • I could have written it better.

      The idea was that there was this restaurant (you can see it in the background of the photo), and they have a theme to go with their name.

      The theme is that there is a clap of thunder, a bright flash, and a portion of a random type of meat appears.

      As this is such a fun idea, groups of people go there. If the third person in that group randomly gets turkey, then their portion of meat is free.

  8. jwdwrites says:

    Could have a business model there, as well as a good story. 🙂

  9. Excellent combination (not to mention, time-saver!).

  10. Carrie says:

    I used that restaurant tucked in the back of the picture for my inspiration as well. Nice little story. As a vegetarian I don’t think I would eat there but the concept is fun

  11. JackieP says:

    I would go to that restaurant. Much better then shopping any day. 🙂

  12. I love your concept of a restaurant. You should market it. 🙂 I don’t think you nailed the third definition of turkey, though. Still, a fun concept. I’d go.

  13. Linda Vernon says:

    Clever mix of the prompts. 😀

  14. JKBradley says:

    And now I’m hungry, and I’ve only had one cup of coffee.

    Thanks.

  15. benmc47 says:

    Once I figured out what “Thunder Grill” was, I quite enjoyed this!

Leave a Reply

