Season of the feast

Locust

Locust (Photo credit: [nivs])

***

Cold winds become warm
Ponderous clouds roll away
Sun warms frigid earth

Green shoots burst from seed
Emerald spears surge upwards
Birdsong fills the air

Soil undulates
Chitinous locusts emerge
Ravenous they march

***

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Season of the feast

  1. Valerie says:

    I’ve seen those locusts-marching and ravenous is perfect! I enjoyed this piece-a very exhilarating 33 words!

  2. that is quite the accurate poem for those things. i liked ‘ponderous clouds’

  3. oberon732013 says:

    Hey great piece, I loved the ’emerald spears’ and i went to my dictionary for ‘chitinous’. You have created some beautiful images in this piece well done.

  4. This is so vibrant. There is such a sense of movement and life. Great job! πŸ™‚

  5. Draug419 says:

    Where I live it’s the cicadas on the march. I suppose the seasons can be determined by the bug content haha.

  6. jannatwrites says:

    Beautiful imagery. I kind of shivered at the locusts marching. We get cicadas and grasshoppers, and to be honest, they give me the creeps- especially when the land on me!

  7. locusts in the word unite…. not… love your wordplay here.

  8. What a march from season to season. I like the progression from one to another and the imagery.

  9. Damn those locusts! The gofers of the air. I enjoyed how you created a definite beginning, middle and end in this piece. The middle stanza was my favorite, but those “ponderous clouds,” that was good stuff!

Leave a Reply

