The prisoner

dungeons

dungeons (Photo credit: Ben (Falcifer))

I cannot tell you for how long I sat on the cold stone floor; there were no windows nor cracks through which any daylight could be seen, nor did I hear or see anybody visit.  I tried to wait in order to perceive some sort of routine yet despite myself I would fall asleep; upon wakening I would crawl about looking for food and find a bottle of fluid, some sort of salted broth, but I never heard nor saw sign of who might have put it there.  I do not know for how long I slept, though I slept fitfully and it seemed to me that I woke often.  There was no sound and no smell save the bottle of broth which I put eagerly to my lips each time I found it full.

All at once the blackness became a blinding white; instinctively I shielded my eyes with one of my arms and dragged myself over to one of the walls.   For the first time in memory, I felt the air move around me, felt a breeze caress my skin.  As my eyes became a little more accustomed to the incandescence, I lowered my arm and saw a portal in which stood a robed figure, holding a staff in one hand.  I heard a deep and ancient voice call out “Come forth into the light of things, let nature be your teacher”.

Slowly I crawled on my hands and knees towards the light, but reaching the portal I felt my skin burn and I shrank away again, hissing through my two remaining teeth.

Waiting in darkness
Invited into the light
Damned to solitude

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The prisoner

  1. nightlake says:

    imaginative, intriguing and well written

  2. Pingback: Ligo Haibun Challenge – Quotes, Nature and Flowers | TheWhyAboutThis

  3. Penny L Howe says:

    I enjoyed reading your haibun. I liked your approach. Mysterious and dark. Well written and even better, very entertaining as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

