The boy who kills bees

Copyright – Jennifer Pendergast

“Who is that kid?”

“Just some farm boy; they say his parents are dead so he’s living with his Aunt down the road.”

“I’m glad he’s on our side against those things!  How do you think he does it?”

“Don’t care.  I don’t trust him.”

“Why not?”

“He’s different.”

***

A boy stood nearby, arms by his sides, staring into the middle distance.  Suddenly his head snapped upwards; his eyes glowed red illuminating his expressionless face.  Lasers shot out into the sky, and the smouldering ruin of another giant bee fell to the earth.

Inside the boy, servos ground and whirred.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The boy who kills bees

  1. I’d say he takes “different” to an entirely new level! But I’m glad he’s on our side…I guess.

    janet

  2. Very imaginative Mr. Imaginator.

  3. lewis cave says:

    I feel cheated… I grew up on a farm and I never got a laser!

  4. rckjones says:

    Great twist ending! Did you mean “servos” by the way?

  5. Linda Vernon says:

    He’d be handy to have around even with regular bees. Totally loved this Imaginator!

  6. zookyworld says:

    Good to have a kid like this on our side against the giant bees.

  7. Oh, that was brilliant, darling. I picture the kid like one of those creepy kids from Village of the Damned.

  8. troy P. says:

    In my experience, the different kids ALWAYS end up being killer cyborg units. A classic tale, well told good sir!

  9. elmowrites says:

    Yeah, I don’t trust him either. First bees, then what?

  10. Dear Imaginator,

    Giant bees and robotic boys…good mix for an creepy story. Nice one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  11. Joe Owens says:

    Just some farm boy . . . with lasers for eyes! Now I can see the applicants lining up to be retrofitted with red lasers!

  12. Dear Imaginator,

    Just a boy, eh? Loved it.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  13. pattisj says:

    Makes one wonder what happened to the farm boy’s parents.

Leave a Reply

