The staff and the mirror

Urban sky. Photo courtesy of David Mark, Pixabay

Urban sky. Photo courtesy of David Mark, Pixabay

I had been following him for weeks, following the same routine day after day, week after week.  There had been a spate of robberies from museums and art galleries; he fit the profile and was the closest lead I had.

09:30 the old man sat at his usual table at Mary’s Diner, had black coffee and scrambled eggs on whole wheat toast, read a newspaper.  10:15 went to the library, bought a hot dog for lunch at 14:30, fed birds in the park till 16:30.  17:00 went to his apartment, watched TV.  23:00 turned TV off.  Weekends were the same, except instead of the library he’d visit museums and art galleries.  He barely spoke to anybody.

Then one day everything changed.

I followed him to an art gallery; there was a special exhibition – the staff of Rasputin, the mad monk.  I lost the old man in the crowds; the alarms went off and I knew he’d taken the staff.

I ran out of the fire exit door he’d left ajar and chased him up a fire escape, thinking I’d arrest the old fool on the roof.  When I got to the top I found him waiting there, staff in hand, smiling.  He mumbled some words, waved the staff in a deasil fashion, turned and jumped off before I could grab him.

I saw him fall into what looked like a huge mirror which covered the ground between the surrounding four buildings, into the blue sky and clouds reflected there…and vanish.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The staff and the mirror

  1. djmatticus says:

    I want that staff!!! Well, I’m not too picky, I’ll take any magic staff please.

  2. I too would like a magic staff please. 🙂

Leave a Reply

