Chupacabra

Goat in cemetary

Copyright – Randy Mazie

One goat.

One goat, and a gravedigger sitting on a stone under shade of trees, peering into his mobile phone and jabbing at it with dirt encrusted thumbs.

It was one of those infernal summer days when the heat suffocated any notion of slumber.  On days like this, he would get up and pace around until nightfall when he could hunt under the cover of darkness; he wasn’t afraid of humans, but he’d seen what their thunder-sticks could do.

He glanced up at the sky, licked his calloused lips; a few more hours till sunset.

Then the goat was his.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Chupacabra

  1. misskzebra says:

    Inspired by the recent heatwave, by any chance? I was writing about someone walking through a snowdrift this morning, I think it actually helped me feel a little cooler.

  2. You caught a feeling of ominous waiting. Nice (or not)!!

    janet

  3. I like your flash fiction piece, I particularly liked your line, “It was one of those infernal summer days when the heat suffocated any notion of slumber.” excellent. 🙂

  4. Delft says:

    The infernal summer heat, and the impatient waiting is very vivid.

    Lol. It took me a few reads to understand it’s not the gravedigger speaking. Never heard of the chupacabra before … but how does it know the human is a gravedigger?

  5. Dear Imaginator,

    You’ve imagined a good one. I looked up Chupacabra. Nasty little beasts, particularly if you happen to be a goat.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. oberon732013 says:

    Great story. The end and the sinister tone I liked. Well done.

  7. Sandra says:

    I don’t fancy the goat’s chances. Nicely done and a bit of education too.

  8. unspywriter says:

    I loved this! When you read mine, I think you’ll see why. 😉 I swear I wrote before I read.

    http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/judas-goats/

  9. Your story is filled with vivid imageries that helps to make us understand better. Well executed plot, too.

  10. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Imagin…,

    Great story that evoked the feel of the hunter and the hunted on a hot summer’s day.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  11. Well done — someone else wrote a Chupacabra story but theirs was comedy. I was so hoping someone would write a monster story.

  12. JackieP says:

    Oh oh. Run goat run!! 😉

  13. Poor goat.. better avoid the lucious green of churchyard

  14. Definitely had to educate myself as I hadn’t heard of chupacabras. Interesting!

    My response: http://www.aliciaaudrey.com/blog/100-word-story-heat/

Leave a Reply

