Don’t touch

Red tulips.

Red tulips. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sandra paused in front of some bright red tulip-like flowers amongst the blades of grass, the crimson shade of their voluptuous curves catching her eye.  She stooped and slowly reached out to touch one of them; it seemed to lean towards her as her fingertips drew near, its petals opening ever so slightly as if in response to her proximity.

“I wouldn’t do that if I were you” cautioned Charles.

“Why’s that?” she asked as she stood up straight and looked at him.

“Because they’ll take the skin right off your fingers and shave off some bone for good measure.”

Lillie McFerrin Writes
About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing, Shrouded City and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Don’t touch

  1. misskzebra says:

    I imagine this is what all the GM opposers will think is going to happen if those pesky scientists have their way.

  2. K. R. Smith says:

    That’s one garden where I’m not going to stop and smell the roses…

    Sounds like those tulips have two lips (sorry).

    Good story!

  3. I need to plant some of these in my garden. Maybe they’ll discourage the deer. Seriously, it interesting how some of nature’s most beautiful expressions can also be some of her deadliest.

  4. Next on ‘Nature’s Deadliest Predators’. I really like how you interpreted this prompt, this piece really has bite.

    (I apologise for the pun.)

  5. McGuffy Ann says:

    Well, I never did have a green thumb. It’s probably a good thing!

  6. well, that piece had some bite to it… Randy

  7. Beautiful, but can hurt you. Much like life. Very good, love this…

  8. ahblack57 says:

    Those flowers would have made a good border planting along my neighbor’s property line. I have new neighbors now, though so such a measure is no longer needed… an imaginative piece!

Leave a Reply

