Elaffigraba

Stuffed toy made up of parts of elephant, giraffe, zebra and tiger

Copyright – EL Appleby

“What’s that?”

“It’s an elaffigraba.”

“Eh?”

“El-aff-ig-ra-ba.”

“Oh…ok…how did that come about?”

“Well, you know, just messing about with some odds and ends, like you do, and I made this.”

“Looks very…different.”

“Yeah!  Doesn’t it? I’m very proud of this one.”

“Sure, sure.  So um, where should it go?”

“Somewhere on the Serengeti I would have thought.”

“And you’ve made a mate for it?”

“Oh yes!  Here, take a look.”

“What?  Oh my word…”

“Yeah.”

“That….it…is that what I think it is?”

“Yup.”

“Right there?  Right on its…between its…oh my…”

“I know, right?  So what’dya think?”

“And you put it there?”

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Elaffigraba

  1. Dear Imaginator,

    You certainly have left much to the…um…er…imagination. 😉 I’m smiling.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. Linda Vernon says:

    Uh oh!! Is that what I think it is? HA! 😀

  3. Lol..I’m guessing it wasn’t a …

  4. I laugh you grabba…
    I merged the names as well though not in the Serengeti

  5. Sandra says:

    Hilarious! 😀

  6. must an an abargiffale which the opposite – or mate- to a
    Elaffigraba.

    Why is everyone acting so strange?

  7. Jan Brown says:

    Excellent interpretation of the prompt! I would love to see its mate and her, um….

  8. Where? Where … I don’t see it! C’mon, where is it???

  9. zookyworld says:

    A clever name mash-up for the animal, and to leave us, well, hanging at the end to use our imaginations about the mate. Reminds me of Lewis Carroll’s cleverness. Neat stuff!

  10. elappleby says:

    Love it! Sounds like the Elaffigraba’s mate will make her very happy 😀

  11. You must have a better quality copy of the image than me. I don’t see it at all. 🙂

  12. 40again says:

    Grest interpretation, loved it
    Dee

  13. 40again says:

    Could be grest I suppose, but great would be better…

  14. neenslewy says:

    Great dialogue. Funny flash.

  15. unspywriter says:

    Oh, what a belly laugh! Great use of the prompt.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/young-at-heart/

  16. Joe Owens says:

    YIKES! Should we all vote on a rating for this story?

  17. Conversation between God & The Devil? Funny stuff, darling.

  18. My imagination is going wild. Won’t even comment more because I could get in trouble. Great job.

Leave a Reply

