Ruins

Desolate ruins of a city

After we passed through the portal, white blinding pain filled my mind and instinctively I curled up into a foetal position as I felt pressure bearing down on me from all directions, my body turning this way and that as it hurtled forward at speed, into what?

The air rushed around me and pressure increased from the direction we were heading in, then suddenly all the pain and pressure dissipated and I felt like I was floating in water…slowly, I felt solid ground underneath the right hand side of my body as I realised that wherever we were going, we had arrived.

Gingerly, I uncurled my arms and legs a bit and opened my eyes just enough to let the light in; it wasn’t very bright so my eyes adjusted relatively quickly.  Glancing around me I saw that old Rootbagger was stirring as the mists curled around his form; he’d be awake and up on his feet soon enough.

I got on my hands and knees and stood up, still a little wobbly, and walked up an earthy knoll to take a look around, it was then that the haze parted just enough for me to make out the desolate and blackened ruins of what was once clearly a mighty city.

Lillie McFerrin Writes
About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing, Shrouded City and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ruins

  1. misskzebra says:

    When some people use very long sentences, it’s quite difficult to read, but I never notice it in your five sentence fiction pieces. I’m not sure how you do it, haha!

  2. Yours was excellent…
    Was there not one for this week? I can’t find it.
    Scott

Leave a Reply

