Study

Sandra looked around the tiny study, glancing over the paltry collection of cheap literature and wrinkling her nose in distaste.

“Is there something wrong?” Charles asked.

“Seriously? Is this the extent of your research?”

Charles laughed. “Hell no, the library’s through the back of the house, but I always bring people here first.”

“Oh I see, to show them that you’re an ordinary guy, down to earth, so that they trust you?” she enquired, raising an eyebrow.

“That’s right.” he replied, a twinkle in his eye. “You catch on quickly.”

“No shit. Ok, so what now?”

“Well, now you accept the absurd amount of money I’m throwing at you and we head to the library so I can show you my research.”

She couldn’t help but smile, if a little wryly. “Ok, so let’s go.”

Raising an eyebrow and smiling, he got up out of his desk chair and walked out of the study.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing, Shrouded City and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Study

  1. I’m so into this story, love it, more Shrouded City please!
    I hoped Charles would have a real library now I want to see the research, no pressure but soon please:)

Leave a Reply

