Gift of a smile

Gift box icon

Gift box icon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What a dreary day! Steel grey clouds fill the sky blocking out the sunshine, and a cold wind blows through the filthy streets, howling just like the feral dogs who roam the alleyways looking for scraps, or perhaps preying on an unsuspecting pet cat.

It’s on days like these, I feel, that we should consider the well-being of those around us, and so I take it upon myself to think about what I can do for some of these people during the quieter times in my otherwise busy schedule.

Take Alison Coldridge for instance, down on 43rd street; she’s a single mother with three demanding children and her husband is a drunkard who blows all their money on booze and gambling.  There’s Lieutenant Bill Foster on Acacia Avenue.  He’s been in a dreadful state since coming home from the war; he could use cheering up, and what about lonely old widow Donaldson over at the corner of Lexington and 3rd?  They all need cheering up.  So what do I do?  I have presents delivered right to their door.

I just love to give presents!

I make sure that they’re in colourful boxes all neatly wrapped up with a pretty bow.  I take my time over the gifts so that the recipients feel flattered and intrigued, take the box into their homes, pull at the bow and lift the lid..then the surprise hits them…

…and leaves them with ruby red lips, pale but happy faces, and the stupid, glassy eyed grin!

Joker playing card

Photo credit: GoShow

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gift of a smile

  1. ‘I take my time over the gifts so that the recipients feel flattered and intrigued’ when I read that I shivered, felt bizarre. Two in one day, I do approve:)

Leave a Reply

