Nektaspid

Hornet's nest on pebbles

Copyright – Janet Webb

“Is that a hornet’s nest daddy?”

“What that?  No dear; that’s the abdomen from a Surinam Nektaspid.”

“A what?”

“Nektaspid”

“What’s that?”

“Well, it’s kind of like a spider, except it lives underwater.”

“What’re those holes for then?  Does web shoot out of them?”

“No, those are where the babies come out from.”

“Huh?”

“The babies come out of its abdomen, the back of it, see?  They grow inside of her ‘till they’re ready to pop out, then they swim off into the ocean!”

“Does it hurt her?”

“No honey, she doesn’t feel a thing; she dies before they hatch.”

 

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Nektaspid

  1. Anne Orchard says:

    Well crafted, and great dialogue. I love how you created a whole new creature we’ve never heard of before (and I’ll never complain about childbirth again!)

  2. I love the flow of this and can just hear Bill making up a story like this for the girls. I was just about to look up “Nektaspid” and had even imagined it backwards to see if it spelled something that way, when I read Anne’s comment and was thus saved. 🙂

    I think that instead of ” Does web shoot out of them?”, you want “Do webs shoot…”. Yes?

    Hope your day’s off to a great start,

    janet

  3. cocacolafiend says:

    I’m sure I’ve read about a kind of toad that gives birth in a very similar way.

  4. Joe Owens says:

    I am familiar with the concept of death with the birth of offspring as well. Although I cannot remember what creature.

  5. rheath40 says:

    I’ve no idea why, but I loved this story. Maybe it was the interaction between the characters. Or the story itself. I’m not sure. Thanks though. I wanted it to go on.

  6. zookyworld says:

    I like how you captured the child’s inquisitive nature through lots of questions, and then the Dad’s answers that aren’t overly complex. It fits just right. And, okay, I’ll admit it: I Googled “Nektaspid” and found a Wikipedia article for Nektaspida — cool to learn something new!

  7. Loved it as usual, always a nice twist. I hope you are planning a book. Would you still eligible for another Liebster or have you too many followers. I wish to nominate you come May when this challenge is over. Thanks.
    #atozchallenge
    maggie at expat brazil

  8. Lyn says:

    LOL that’s clever. I can see it playing out on the movie screen in my mind’s eye.

  9. Sandra says:

    Brilliant take on the prompt. Loved it.

  10. I could picture the creepy looking creature and its babies bursting out. Thanks for that image…but good job with the piece.

  11. Love the title. Had to Google it. Well crafted story. Thank you for the education laced entertainment.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  12. Linda Vernon says:

    A mini-science lesson wrapped in a nice little story.

  13. 40again says:

    I loved your dialogue, so believable. Well written, well done.
    Dee

  14. I love this creation very well done –

  15. Very imaginative, and enjoyable.

  16. I wasn’t sure if the father was really knowledgeable or just making stuff up for the kid. I know some people who could go on for 20 minutes, completely straight-faced.

Leave a Reply

