Oddity

Motorcycle sculpture

Copyright – Sandra Crook

The bike was a work of art, even if a bit make-shift.

What she’d done was weld together any bit of metal she could lay her hands on to assemble a chassis with – tools, utensils, cogs, nuts and bolts – then sorted out the engine and the moving parts, put chains on the wheels for mud and snow instead of tires.

Yes it was an oddity; it didn’t even have a visible clutch or throttle mechanism on the ram’s horn handlebars.Β  She was proud of that; let others figure it out, she wouldn’t tell anyone how it worked.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Oddity

  1. which of course leaves me wondering how did it? Great attention to detail- enjoyed TI – thank you

  2. dental eggs says:

    I want five of those.

  3. She’s an artist. She need not share her secrets. Nicely told.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  4. It really is a work of art, or of whatever her name is. We joke about this with my dad, whose name is Art. I once got Mom an “I ❀ Art" magnet from the Cleveland Museum of Art. πŸ™‚

    janet

  5. Ahhh… The mysteries of bicycles, artwork and writers…. ultimately, life itself.
    Nice piece. Randy

  6. And, neither should she… I really enjoyed that… Thank You..

  7. Sandra says:

    A woman of mystery. Keep ’em guessing. Well done.

  8. zookyworld says:

    Your story fits the photo very well, with right-on descriptions. I like that she left it for others to figure out how her creation works. Let it remain a puzzle.

  9. jwdwrites says:

    It’s funny but the only women I know of that can weld are artists. Good story. πŸ™‚

  10. unspywriter says:

    An artist has to have some secrets, after all. Good use of the prompt.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/siblings/

  11. camgal says:

    Haha I do believe the title chosen is quite befitting πŸ™‚ well done all together.

  12. silently Kim says:

    I agree the artist must keep her secrets. Well done.

  13. elappleby says:

    Lovely story! I read this sentence wrong: ‘put chains on the wheels for mud and snow instead of tires’ – I thought she’d used snow instead of tires!!! Got there in the end, though πŸ™‚

  14. Does it have a secret key that makes the whole thing come to life? I’d love to make something like that myself.

  15. Joe Owens says:

    If she is the only one who understands how it works she won’t have to share it with anyone. Artists can keep their secrets.

  16. Yup, let them figure it out!

Leave a Reply

