Old flame lingers in the dark

Copyright – Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The oil lamps on the table cast a warm cosy glow, accentuating the gleaming lustre of the wooden table at the centre of the kitchen.  The little shopping trolley for the herbs and dish towel would give the impression that she was kitsch and homely.

Hopefully they wouldn’t notice the smell of rotting flesh; if they did, hopefully she could explain it away…

There was a knock at the door, she could hear the voice of the estate agent outside; too late now.

She smoothed down her apron, patted the bun in her hair, and went to greet her visitors.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Old flame lingers in the dark

  1. Your first paragraph sounded so homey, but then… I think she may need to open the herb containers quickly! This isn’t Denmark, is it, because we know something’s rotten there.

    janet

  2. Like it. You infer she knew there would be company. She’s a gutsy gal

  3. Sandra says:

    I’d like to hear the explanation. She’s one cool customer. Enjoyed it. Thanks for reading and commenting on mine. You made me laugh but out of concern for the sensibiities of my elderly Aunt Marjorie… 😉

  4. What a chilling tale. This is the stuff of great horrors. Nice.

  5. Oh she forgot the lilies, and bleach, definitily bleach

  6. Carrie says:

    Tsk tsk, doesn’t she know she needs to bake cookies to cover the scent of rotting flesh 😉

    Fun story, would like to hear more.

  7. Gruesome! I hope that’s a dead rat stashed somewhere inaccessible by the cat… yes?

  8. She should be burning incense! Nice story

  9. You gotta do what you gotta do.

  10. elappleby says:

    What a gruesome tale! I wonder if she’ll get away with it…

  11. 40again says:

    Want to know more now… she should have put fresh coffee on and baked some bread that would have fooled ’em ( or so I’m told)
    Loved your story, fellow UK dweller
    Dee

  12. unspywriter says:

    A nice, little, dark tale. I’d take the second paragraph and make it the last; it has an even bigger impact that way. And she truly is a cool cucumber.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/doom-and-gloom/

    • You’re absolutely right, and I could have moved the ‘too late now’ along with it. I’ll leave it as it is though, changing it now would be cheating. I’ll learn from this though 🙂

  13. zookyworld says:

    Creepy story… and I like how you left it wide open for us readers to imagine what will happen next. Possibly her kitschy/cozy appearance will fool the visitors, or maybe not….

  14. again the dark that I love so much 🙂

  15. Creepy and dark. Rotting flesh is such a charming image…and scent. I should loan you some of my patchouli incense. 😉
    shalom
    Rochelle

  16. Sarah Ann says:

    Great tale. I’d like to hear her excuses for the smell of rotting flesh. Hope the herbs are pungent enough to disguise it.

  17. I’m not real savvy about these things but it’s my understanding that it’s quite difficult to mask the smell of rotting flesh.

Leave a Reply

