My precious girl

Hank smashed his fist down into Peter’s cheekbone, knocking his head to the side with the force of the blow.  His wife screamed his name and sobbed behind him, pleading for him to stop.

“You corrupted my little girl with your fancy ideas, you punk!”

Peter turned his head as best he could with his hair being gripped by Hank’s free hand, looked up at Diane with bloodshot eyes, snot and blood streaming from his nose.

Diane stood by her mother, hands clasped in front of her, her face frozen in an expression of shock and curiosity.

“I’m sorry sir, I didn’t mean to…”

The heavy knuckles clubbed Peter’s skull again; pain registered briefly in the back of his mind, then turned into the throbbing of the skin on one side of his face.

“Shut up you, I’ve had enough out of you.  You infected my girl with your damned words!”

Hank leaned down and shouted into Peter’s ear as he turned his head away from Hank’s fury.

“You think you’re clever huh?  Do you realise what you’ve done?  You’ve ruined this family.”

“Please sir, I..”

“Shut up!” Hank screamed, standing up and raising his fist.  Peter briefly glance up at Hank, then turned his head away and tried to shield his face with his arms.

The blow never came.

Peter looked up at Hank as he let go of his hair, let his arm go limp by his side, fell to his knees and buried his head in his hands.  He slowly stood up and gingerly put his hand on Hank’s shoulder as his body shook with the force of his grief.

“Damn you boy” Hank wept, “damn you and your ideas and your damn words”.

Peter looked up at Diane’s mother, red faced and crying, shaking her head.  Diane stood still, a look of uncertainty on her face.

Hank looked up at Peter, tears streaming down his cheeks.

“You know how much these damned units cost? Diane was the latest model.”

***

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to My precious girl

  1. deanabo says:

    I love this! Terrific twist at the end.

  2. Oh dear I read and re-read and perhaps it’s just me (I’m sure it’s just me) I am confused. I thought it was a father at first then about ‘the words’ and the cost of the ‘units’ please help me to understand for I feel a tad dim-witted…(me) not your writing btw.

  3. Sandra says:

    Truly original take on both the prompt and on the android theme. Well done.

  4. Suzanne says:

    Love this so much! Really clever and creative – and you captured the intensity of the emotion so well. I love the contrast of the violent scene and Diane standing there quiet and uncertain.

  5. zennjennc says:

    So creative, I read it like three time trying to capture everyone’s placement and emotions.

  6. Never corrupt an android with ideas… that is bound to end in disaster- 🙂

    Great take

  7. Megan Eccles says:

    Nice twist at the ending! I certainly wasn’t expecting that.

  8. jannatwrites says:

    I also thought it was an over-protective father. Like the creative twist at the end!

  9. djmatticus says:

    Your creativity is unparalleled!

  10. Draug419 says:

    Awesome twist there (:

  11. habibadanyal says:

    This makes me wonder if I am the only person left on earth who is NOT using a smartphone =/

  12. I would like to know which words corrupted her and in what way.

  13. Sini says:

    A robot ? Good twist ..was Peter a real boy ? that was a bit sad..him getting bashed up..

  14. Lyn says:

    Gosh, you really had me wondering what had happened; right up to the end. Good job, I would never have guessed.

  15. Pingback: Guest Post: The Imaginator – A bold remedy | thematticuskingdom

Leave a Reply

