Drinks at the pub

Lager

Lager (Photo credit: Anders Adermark)

Glasses chink
Lets have a drink
I’ll get the first round in.
How was your day?
Mine was ok
Nothing too exciting.

Let’s find a table somewhere
We can sit at that one over there
Push aside the empty glasses.
With the scrape of chairs
We arrange our affairs
Amongst the heaving masses.

So what’ve you been doing?
Oh this and that kind of thing
You know, plodding on.
Halfway through our first drink
We have a think
Better get another one.

Time idles by
Some friends arrive
Slap backs, well met, how do!
What tipple do you desire?
Oh, well since you enquire
I’ll have another one of these, thank you!

So how are you?
What’ve you been up to?
Tell me what’s been going on.
It’s been a while
I see you’re wearing the latest style
Have you heard the latest song?

Many drinks after
Amid much laughter
We decide to get some food.
Lets go explore
Later we can drink more
A kebab? Why yes that sounds good!

The following morn
I awake with a yawn
My head is feeling heavy.
Mouth sticky and dry
I feel remorseful and wry
Shouldn’t have had that last bevvy.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Drinks at the pub

  1. djmatticus says:

    Kind of how I felt Saturday morning…

  2. Sightsnbytes says:

    Put music to this and you have the next Country & Western hit! It made me thirsty to read it.

Leave a Reply

