Why the Star Wars movies are so bad – but good.

Star Wars logo

I’ve just spent some time reading TwinDaddy’s post on inconsistencies in the Star Wars movies (Prequel Trilogy and Original Trilogy) and why ‘Episode 2 – Attack of the Clones’ was so bad.

I’ve read a lot of stuff (or is that Stuph™?) listing the many criticisms people have made about each of the Star Wars movies over the years, mainly about the prequels.

I think that the PT may have received more criticism than the OT, although that may just be because the PT came out during the age of the internet which gave lots more people a chance to share their opinions with lots of other people all in one go; it may also be because the kids who watched the OT decades ago are now adults and view the PT as being for kids – which it is, obviously, but so was the OT.

Ewok!!

I rest my case. (Photo credit: partymonstrrrr)

All of the Star Wars movies had some pretty major plot holes and I think many people would agree that things could have been done differently.  As I’ve just said on Twitter, I think that the reason behind the inconsistencies, incest and lack of continuity is purely because George Lucas didn’t plan ahead; he just made it all up as he went along, episode by episode.

I think that when he introduced Leia as Luke’s sister in Episode 6, that he wished he hadn’t made that scene where Leia lustily kisses Luke on the mouth.  I don’t think he even considered the incest angle there, simply because that probably wasn’t his intention.  What, insert soap opera shock value here?  Nah, leave that to the makers of ‘Borgia‘.

I really don’t think that George cared about continuity at all; he just wanted to do a few simple things: –

  • He wanted to suck us in for just long enough for us to part with our money
  • He wanted to suck kids in for just long enough for us to part with our money
  • He wanted to make a short, rip roaring roller-coaster of a yarn in a nice, neat package
  • He wanted to knock these out of the studios as fast as possible, to profit from the inertia of his initial success

I’d say he was pretty successful at doing these things; the Star Wars franchise is estimated to be worth $27 billion, George Lucas sold his company for $4 billion, and George himself is estimated to be worth around the same.

I’m not alone in saying that the OT at least had some great moments and I loved the special effects, even though they are now aged, and appreciate them even more knowing that in the first movie quite a lot of the special effects were made on a small budget and were really quite low-tech by today’s standards.

Toilet Paper Cardboard Tubes  ~ 4 of 9 photos

Toilet paper cardboard tubes (Photo credit: Urban Woodswalker)

Plus symbol

Baby wearing tin foil hat

some tin foil (Photo Credit: Jonathantanner)

Equal symbol

C3PO figurine

C3PO Break Time (Photo credit: Daniel Y Go)

I like the first two movies of the OT best.  Even despite the plot holes in the first two episodes of the OT, I still enjoy watching them and appreciate them for the simple fun  that they are.  In my opinion Episode 6 was when George really began to be motivated more by how much money he could make out of the franchise rather than by creating a good story; for example, the Ewoks were completely unnecessary, plus revealing Leia as Luke’s sister added nothing substantial to the plot of the episode and just undermined the whole thing, even if only marginally.

Still, the Star Wars franchise is still loved by many, and I’m probably not the only one glad to see that George Lucas has retired and that it’s JJ Abrams who’s making the next Star Wars trilogy; despite the obvious stupidity of the black hole/worm hole plot device in his first instalment of ‘Star Trek’, I’m confident that JJ will do a good job.

Yes, we may criticise the Star Wars movies and George Lucas, but then as Obi-Wan said, “Who’s the more foolish, the fool or the fool who follows him?”.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Why the Star Wars movies are so bad – but good.

  1. twindaddy says:

    I still love watching all of the movies and have seen them each hundreds of times. I’m certainly glad Lucas retired and passed the torch. After seeing how Abrams resurrected the Star Trek franchise I can’t wait to see what he can do for Star Wars.

  2. ramblingsofabipolarwoman says:

    I grew up with the OT and my son has grown up with the the PT, never read the books as of yet, so I don’t know the errors there, but even with the parts I wish myself had been done differently, I still love them. The OT was a huge part of my childhood and I love them, just like the first NeverEnding Story, The Goonies, etc. 😉 My son loves Star Wars, is addicted to it. I think I will have him start reading the series since he likes to read and see what he makes of the books….think I shall join him too to see what I have missed in the story line. I do agree that it’s time for Lucas to retire, he had a good run and both my son and I are excited to see what comes next, especially since we also like Star Trek. 😉

  3. matttblack42 says:

    My favorite Star Wars movie is the fifth, then the fourth, and then the third. I think the third movie was underrated because it was stuck in the group with the other two awful prequels.

    • The third? Surely you don’t mean Revenge of the Sith? With the rushed war scenes and the wooden acting from Hayden Christensen?

      • matttblack42 says:

        I remember liking it because Yoda finally got a fight scene and lots of people died. Was Hayden Christensen the guy who played Anakin? If so, I didn’t think his acting was that bad, but maybe it was just because my expectations were lowered from having just watched the Attack of the Clones. Which really did suck (but not as bad as the first one).

        Then again, I haven’t seen it since I was eleven, so my opinion might change if I watch it again.

      • Fair enough, seeing Yoda fight was fun; little green munchkin somersaulting and bouncing around like a pinball 🙂

  4. djmatticus says:

    I will proudly admit that I too am I fool. I enjoyed all 6 movies, and will watch any of them at any point that I found them on the TV, and do marathons every once in awhile too. I don’t mind the plot holes, or terrible acting, or any of the other things that so many have complained about (especially regarding the PT); because despite all that they are still a blast to watch.

Leave a Reply

