Lizard on hot stone

Lizard on a rock on Park Avenue in Arches NP2

Lizard on a rock (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Laid out on the hot stone, waiting

Investigating the shimmering air

Zapping flies with sticky tongue

Absorbing heat from rock and sky

Radiating throughout its being

Darts out of sight of midday sun.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Lizard on hot stone

  1. yeh lizards are very cool
    liked the words also
    thanks

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Nice acrostic…I don’t these too often! I like lizards, too. They are fascinating creatures.

  3. Katie says:

    This must have really been a challenge, you created well. The picture is a nice touch
    Katie atBankerchick Scratchings

  4. Christine says:

    We don’t see many acrostics here – great job! You painted a lovely picture in 33 words. It was very visual writing, if that makes sense.

    • Thanks 😀

      I was aiming to be visual, ever since I read somewhere that Mark Twain said “if you see an adjective, kill it”, I’ve been trying to show the reader what’s in my head rather than using adjectives to describe it.

  5. Suzanne says:

    This is so good! I love how you managed to make me feel like I was there on the rock (no small task given that my backyard is still full of snow!). Wonderful use of the prompt too!

  6. k~ says:

    I do love the clever way you put this one together!

  7. Awhile ago, I challenged Draug to write a story that had, as its’ core, cupcakes. If you, or she, wants a new challenge then, here it is: create a story about the world of acrostic poetry slams! So far, since joining Trifecta, this is the first acrostic entry that I’ve come across. So, points for originality. Well done.

  8. Lance says:

    Very creative and I enjoyed the POV. well done.

  9. joetwo says:

    Very nicely done!

  10. vivinfraynce says:

    Loively accrostic – I find them sooo difficult to do, and to achieve the exact word count is even more so.

  11. I don’t think I’ve even seen the word ‘acrostic’ since high school. Wish you’d been around back then, because this is way, way better than the drivel we had to read. Great job with the prompt, and thanks for linking up. Hope to see you around again soon.

  12. Well done on the Acrostic it flowed nicely and the tale of the lizard very realistic.

  13. Draug419 says:

    hahaha oh man this is awesome! I haven’t seen these since elementary school ^__^

  14. atrm61 says:

    I am impressed with this piece-its unique & original.Unlike all of you,I had never come across this word “acrostic” before today,though I had seen it applied many a time-so thank you for introducing me to this word:-)Though I detest lizards & reptiles,I enjoyed this piece & the word picture you drew took me to the many “Animal Planet” & “National Geographic” episodes seen: on TV-)

  15. Misky says:

    Very fun acrostic poem!

  16. deanabo says:

    This is wonderful! Very nice.

  17. barbara says:

    run, lizard, run!
    great acrostic!

  18. Man, do I love me a good acrostic! Nice one.

  19. Lyn says:

    Thank you for dropping by and liking my Friday Fiction post “Thunder,” much appreciated .

Leave a Reply

