My Kindle

Kindle Paperwhite

Kindle Paperwhite (Photo credit: Yuya Tamai)

Quick rant.

I bought a Kindle Paperwhite the other week, set me back a few quid but it wasn’t purely a vanity ‘me too’ purchase; I thought it would be easier to read pdf’s on it than on my mobile phone.

In hindsight, that wasn’t entirely true, and in addition I can’t return it because the box it came in had a tear tab instead of a flap (nice one Amazon).

Pdf’s are only easy to read on the Kindle if they are formatted in the form of an e-book rather than a scanned page of a book (naturally); the problem is that at the moment the only pdf’s I want to read are scanned pages, because these are from journals I’m reading for university.

I can set the Kindle in landscape mode (what, no gyroscope?) and I can pinch and zoom, but zooming in and moving about makes the letters flicker (#Firstworldproblems).

The other problem with the Kindle (and this is my biggest problem with it so far) is that while there are a plethora of public domain books available, there are also a plethora of books which cost more than their respective paperbacks.

I imagine that authors out there priced their paperback and Kindle books according to what they thought would be a reasonable price, and then as time went by the Kindle price remained the same as it was while the second hand copies of the paperback (or even new copies) went down in price dramatically.

The thing is, I won’t pay £7.99 for a Kindle version of a book that I can buy for half that price or less in paperback form. An even better example is a book I know I can get for £0.01 plus £1.99 postage, but costs £5.99 on Kindle. I did get two bargains on Kindle though; ‘Life of Pi‘ and ‘The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared’ were both £0.20.

I haven’t read any of the books I’ve downloaded. I’ve got paperbacks I haven’t read yet. There are lots of posts on various blogs to read, and when I’m not reading, writing or studying then I watch lots of movies.

I really haven’t gotten into the Kindle yet, I carry it around in the hope that it will be useful and that I’ll read all the books I’ve downloaded.

Maybe later.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Kindle

  1. djmatticus says:

    I’ve read a couple books on my Kindle… the main problem I have is that I still have so many paperbacks that have been piling up that I want to read first before I start downloading books like crazy onto the Kindle. Once I get through the backlog then I’ll see what trouble I can get into.

Leave a Reply

