What I would un-invent

intelligence

I would un-invent guns, but then war would be as bloody and brutal as before.  I would un-invent nuclear weapons, but then they would use chemical weapons.  I would un-invent chemical weapons, but then they would use biological weapons.  I would un-invent securities and derivatives, but then they would not fall as hard and would not learn the error of their short-term thinking as well as they have.

So I choose to un-invent estate agents.  Why?  They overvalue properties to increase their commission, thereby making houses unaffordable for first-time buyers who have to scrimp and save for years just to cover the deposit, the percentage of which is increasing; never mind the fees.

Who needs them?  Just put up a for sale sign, advertise in the local papers (and now the internet) and exchange details via solicitors.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What I would un-invent

  1. ramblingsofabipolarwoman says:

    Hmm! My boyfriend would definitely appreciate this post. He is in the midst of looking for his first house.

  2. Demosthenes says:

    I would un-invent division. If there were no countries, states, lands or any other administrative bodies and no religions, as John Lennon used to sing there would be “nothing to kill or die for”.

    “Imagine all the people sharing all the world”

  3. Pingback: Chocolates, Anyone | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: There’s No Place To Hide, Get Lost, Scratch, Or Pick Anymore | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: 5 Things I Would UNinvent « Cheri Speak

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Undo – Rock & Roll It All the Way Back (An Online Mini-Musical) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  7. Pingback: The Right To Live - Undoing the invention of Nuclear Bombs | Things To Rave About

Leave a Reply

