I really only just started putting effort into my blog this year, and that because I found prompts and was inspired to challenge myself to write every day.

Since then, I’ve gotten into reading other people’s posts and I’ve been learning from them. I’ve discovered the WordPress.com reader, gotten into liking, commenting and re-blogging other people’s posts.

Through their blogs, I’ve also discovered the benefits of various widgets and tools including Zemanta (which I use for tag suggestions, related articles and the occasional link), the text box widget (random post code can be found here), my community, and posts I like.

This all allows me to link to other peoples content, which of course means that they get traffic directed to them, allowing me to contribute to the community. What goes around comes around, and people then read my posts and I’m getting some feedback now, whereas I never really had that before.

So I completely agree with the Opinionated Man, and I would also encourage the use of widgets to help you engage with the community.

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

