Whose fault is the War?

I have a poor knowledge of history and politics, and no real motivation or enthusiasm for doing university level academic research in either subject, but like everybody else I do wonder about these things and I form my opinions based on what I see in the news; that, and on what I’ve heard from others, some of whom actually do have knowledge of history and other related subjects.

What I have observed is that sometimes the militias are called freedom fighters or rebels, sometimes they are called insurgents or terrorists. The language applied to them by the media appears to depend on whose side they are on, and if they are fighting us or those we consider to be our allies.

As to Afghanistan, I’m sure that the UK probably annoyed them during the days of the British Empire, Russia annoyed them in the 1980’s, and the US and UK have annoyed them all through the 2000’s. I think that this was as bad an idea as kicking a bees nest.

I know nothing about the Afghans except that nobody who invades stays for very long, and I think that the main reason why is that the people there don’t appreciate being invaded and are not easily subdued, they fight back. This appears to support Machiavelli when he wrote in ‘The Prince‘ that if you invade a country and piss people off then you can expect the people to hate you and for them to conspire against you.

Oh, and burning the poppy fields probably pissed them off a bit too. That and telling them what to do and how they should live. There are plenty of things that they do or don’t do over there which the media have shown us, and which I don’t agree with – some of it makes my blood boil – but they won’t change just because we bomb the living shit out of them. They’ll just dig their heels in all the harder.

Who started it? Who pushed first? Probably us. Like I said, tantamount to kicking a bees nest, and now what we’ll do is get out as fast as we can and leave them to themselves.

Robert Kyriakides's Weblog

There is a long lasting war going on in many places between Islamic fundamentalists and the major Western democracies. The war is shown in small actions of great violence and in large actions of little violence. Nations have been invaded, lives lost, prosperity and economies ruined and people have been degraded. This has happened to both sides, and as is usual no one actually wins a war, but whose fault is the war?

View original post 146 more words

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

