Creative writing prompt #22 – My first toy

Nest Machinery - oil on canvasThe first toy I can remember as being mine – although my Dad swears it never existed – was a stuffed toy dog.

It was brown, mostly. I was born in 1980, and so a lot of things were brown, the furniture, the curtains, my corduroy trousers etc; I think that brown, orange and beige were colours which were part of the transition from the 1970’s.

It had brown ‘Rupert the Bear’ style checked trousers (brown with thin yellow lines), a brown body, and white paws.  It had a long body, and long limbs, and floppy ears.  It was a big toy, or at least I thought it was, it and the giant panda stuffed toy (which belonged to my little sister) was bigger than me.

Like I said before, Dad thinks that I made up this fellow.  I had a very vivid imagination when I was a kid, had plenty of lucid dreams (some of my earliest memories are lucid dreams).  He said that the dog was my imaginary friend, and that I called him ‘Stretchy’.  He said I would shuffle over and make space for him when I was sitting on the carpet watching TV.

I know he was real though.

***
Based on a prompt from CreativeWritingPrompts.com

About TheImaginator

35 year old sciolist living in Tokyo. I like swing dancing, Twitter word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, reading, and watching movies. I write stuff on my blog occasionally.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

