Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion

Today, the people at Daily Prompt ask us “Which subject in school did you find impossible to master? Did math give you hives? Did English make you scream?

For me, that would be maths.

 

Pretending to have "A Beautiful Mind"

Pretending to have “A Beautiful Mind” (Photo credit: quinn.anya)

See that scrawl of mathematical symbols in the picture above?  That’s how I picture mathematics, that’s what it means to me.  It’s another language, completely incomprehensible and very very difficult for me to understand.

I know that for some people it’s must a matter of memorising a list of formulas, because each formula has a purpose and and each of them can be put into categories according to purpose or type.

I know that it’s easy for some people to memorise the list of formulas because to these people each of the formulas is just a series of simple and logical steps which they follow methodically to get from point A to point B as they travel in their minds along a line of calculations.

I also know that I won’t allow myself to do the same, because I can’t just accept things and memorise them.

I need to know why things are the way they are, and I need to know why I should give a damn.

Nobody ever explained to me why we performed these calculations, why we were using these alien symbols, why we did things the way we did (or how to play around with numbers in order to reach the same answer in different ways and then check the results by performing yet more calculations) or how I should apply it outside of the classroom.

The thing is, I regret that now, because I’ve seen so many documentaries and movies which show just how fascinating the numbers can be when you’re using them to understand how and why things are the way they are, or how and why things happen.

Like music for example.  Mathematics can explain why we like jazz music, why the chaos of jazz intriguing as our minds search for order amongst the seemingly random plethora of sounds.

Or how about nature?  Mathematics can explain so many things, explain how it’s all connected…

Perhaps one of these days I’ll be motivated enough to give maths another try.

Till later then…

About TheImaginator

34 year old sciolist living in London, UK. I like word games, writing, using Stumbleupon.com, kick-boxing, reading, and watching movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Pingback: 1 + 1 = Math is stupid | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  3. Pingback: Land of Confusion | The Story of a Guy

  4. Pingback: Land of Confusion: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA'S BLOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Subjects in Distress | Views Splash!

  7. afsheenanjum says:

    :) So you are also afraid of maths … Me too ..

  8. Pingback: Giggles and some learning | A mom's blog

  9. Pingback: Land of Confusion | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  10. Pingback: Daily prompt: !%!%*&! Math! | The Wandering Poet

  11. Pingback: What I Didn’t Learn | Edward Hotspur

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | My Atheist Blog

  13. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Who Are You Calling A Loon? Let Danny Dyer Teach You A Lesson (Parody)” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

